Locarno Film Festival (2 – 12 August 2023)

Presentation of the Label Jury


Four Network exhibitors from Belgium, Germany, Italy and the Netherlands will take part in the Europa Cinemas Label Jury at the upcoming 76th Locarno Film Festival in Switzerland. The Jury members will award one film among the 18 European films competing in both the Concorso internazionale and Concorso Cineasti del present.

Locarno Film Festival (2 – 12 August 2023)

The four Jury members this year are:

Frédéric Cornet (Manager, Cinema Galeries, Brussels, Belgium)

Frédéric Cornet is the manager and artistic director of Cinema Galeries in Brussels since 2017. He is also part of the coordination and programming team of “Palestine with Love” festival, organized together with Bozar. Before, he worked as project coordinator and programmer for “Heure d’été film festival” at Cinema Galeries from 2013 to 2017. In 2022, he coordinated the implementation of Cineville in Brussels within the frame of “Collaborate to Innovate” funding scheme of Europa Cinemas.

Arvid Liedtke (Assistant to Programmers, Yorck Kinogruppe, Berlin, Germany)

Originally from Göttingen, Arvid Liedtke moved to Berlin 10 years ago to work as a music-journalist and then to study Cultural Studies. While studying, he was working for Eclair Play/Deluxe at first and later worked in some of the cinemas of Yorck Cinema Group. When he had finished his Bachelor’s degree in 2021, a full-time position at the Yorck-Offices opened up. The company was in the midst of launching their own streaming-platform and needed another helping hand to support this undertaking. In spring of 2022, Yorck Cinema Group launched its streaming-platform YORCK ON DEMAND (, where Arvid Liedtke is (among other things) responsible for the handling of the contracts with the distributors, content acquisition and managing the backend of the website.

Franco Savelli (Communication Manager, Cinemaincentro, Faenza, Italy)

After studying sociology, with a focus on quantitative methods, in Trento (Italy) and Tilburg (the Netherlands), Franco Savelli blended his education and a lifelong passion for cinema into his profession. He has worked since 2015 for Cinemaincentro, a small network of single-screen arthouse cinemas based in Faenza (Emilia Romagna), where he now deals mainly with communication, market analysis and operations.

Miranda van Gelder (Head of Programming, Hoogt on Tour, Utrecht, Netherlands)

Miranda van Gelder is the programmer at Hoogt on Tour (formerly known as Filmtheater ‘t Hoogt) in Utrecht, The Netherlands, a famous Dutch arthouse cinema which celebrates its 50th anniversary this year. After losing its main location in 2018, Hoogt is now “on Tour”, programming arthouse film and cinema events at different locations throughout the city and online via their VOD cinema. They specialize in documentaries, niche films, films for a youth audience and organize film education. Miranda studied film at the University of Utrecht and worked at a vast range of film festivals before becoming the programmer at Hoogt. She also makes a podcast about (the history of) Dutch film and worked as an advisor for the Dutch Film Fund for the acquisition of foreign language arthouse films and documentaries.


List of European films eligible for the Europa Cinemas Label:

Concorso internazionale

ANIMAL by Sofia Exarchou (Greece) 116'


HOME by Leonor Teles (Portugal) 100'

THE INVISIBLE FIGHT by Rainer Sarnet (Estonia) 115'

OBSCURE NIGHT - GOODBYE HERE, ANYWHERE by Sylvain George (France) 183'

PATAGONIA by Simone Bozzelli (Italy) 112'

THE PERMANENT PICTURE by Laura Ferrés (Spain) 94'

ROSSOSPERANZA by Annarita Zambrano (Italy) 87'

SWEET DREAMS by Ena Sendijarević (Netherlands) 102'

YANNICK by Quentin Dupieux (France) 65'


Concorso Cineasti del presente

BITTEN by Romain De Saint-Blanquat (France) 90'

CAMPING DU LAC by Eléonore Saintagnan (France) 70'

EXCURSION by Una Gunjak (Bosnia-Herzegovina) 93'

A GOOD PLACE by Katharina Huber (Germany) 108'

NEGU HURBILAK by Colectivo Negu (Spain) 90'

OF LIVING WITHOUT ILLUSION by Katharina Lüdin (Germany) 108'

ON THE GO by María Gisèle Royo & Julia De Castro (Spain) 72'

TOUCHED by Claudia Rorarius (Germany) 135'


Join us for the official announcement of the award winning film on Saturday, 12 August at 5pm during the Award Ceremony for Independent Juries at the Forum Spazio Cinema located next to the Palexpo FEVI (Via Alla Peschiera 9, 6600 Locarno)!


EC Label contacts:

Fatima Djoumer, CEO /

Lisa Püscher, EC Label Coordinator /

Charles McDonald, Press Officer /


Locarno Film Festival