Cannes - Directors' Fortnight

Presentation of the Label Jury


During the upcoming 56th edition of the Directors’ Fortnight, a jury composed of 4 Network exhibitors will award the Europa Cinemas Label to one European film, among the Directors’ Fortnight selection: this year, 8 European films are in competition for the Label. The 4 Jury members, from Croatia, Estonia, France, and Ireland, will announce the award winning film on Thursday, May 23, 2024, in the evening, at the Closing Ceremony of the Directors’ Fortnight (Théâtre La Croisette).

Cannes - Directors' Fortnight

The four EC Label Jury members are:

Louise Casey Conneally (Chairperson, Galway Film Society, Galway, Ireland)

Louise Casey Conneally is Chairperson of Galway Film Society (GFS), which has been instrumental in shaping Galway's film landscape. With GFS celebrating its 60th anniversary in 2024, it has been pivotal in initiatives like Pálás, the city's first Art House Cinema, and Galway's recognition as a UNESCO Creative City of Film. A former Head of the UK MEDIA Desk and Director of Magma European Scripting House, Louise has spearheaded GFS' post-Covid success. Under her guidance, GFS offers a dynamic program of international art-house films, locally produced shorts, and multicultural events, fostering cultural appreciation and collaboration within Galway's diverse population and communities of the West of Ireland.

Maarja Krass (Communications assistant, Tartu Elektriteater, Tartu, Estonia)

Maarja Krass, a Communications Assistant at Tartu Elektriteater in Estonia, transitioned from studying visual arts to cinema, driven by her passion for reflective communication through aesthetics. Her curiosity about different cultures led her to study foreign languages, literature, and religion. With a background in art history and painting, Maarja eagerly immersed herself in the world of cinema, completing a traineeship at Zebra Kino in Germany before joining Elektriteater. She successfully helps enhancing audience engagement with films, embracing her role as a passionate cinephile in Tartu's cultural sphere.

Rémi Labé (Director, Cinéma Le Navire, Valence, France)

Rémi Labé's journey into cinema began in his teenage years, leading him to study film at university and create short films of his own. After an impactful experience working for a Parisian art house cinema, he helped developing cinema and film festivals in the French department of Ardèche and Drôme. For two years now, Rémi has been serving as the Director of Le Navire, an arthouse cinema in Valence, France.

Tamara Visković (Cultural program manager, Kinoteka Zlatna Vrata, Split, Croatia)

Tamara Visković, an art historian and philosophy professor, boasts over 30 years of experience in cultural programmes organisation and production in the fields of visual arts, multimedia, film culture, and cultural politics. She contributes to music and popular art through regular publication of articles and essays while operating as a current Head of Cultural Programs at Centar Zlatna Vrata in Split, Croatia.

List of European films eligible for the Europa Cinemas Label:

EAT THE NIGHT by Caroline Poggi & Jonathan Vinel (France), 105 min.

IN HIS OWN IMAGE by Thierry de Peretti (France), 110 min.

PLASTIC GUNS by Jean-Christophe Meurisse (France), 95 min.

SAVANNA AND THE MOUNTAIN by Paulo Carneiro (Portugal), 77 min.

THE OTHER WAY AROUND by Jonás Trueba (Spain), 114 min.

THIS LIFE OF MINE by Sophie Fillières (France), 99 min.

TO A LAND UNKNOWN by Mahdi Fleifel (Europe), 105 min.

VISITING HOURS by Patricia Mazuy (France), 108 min.               


EC Label contacts:

Fatima Djoumer, CEO,

Lisa Püscher, EC Label Coordinator,

Charles McDonald, Press Officer,


Directors’ Fortnight