Discover the 28 young cinemagoers selected for Venice 2019!

28 Times Cinema celebrates its 10th anniversary


Europa Cinemas, the Lux Film Prize and Giornate degli Autori are proud to announce the list of the 28 European film-lovers who were selected from over 200 applications - coming from 60 cinemas of the network across Europe - to be part of the 10th edition of 28 Times Cinema.

Discover the 28 young cinemagoers selected for Venice 2019!

Next month, for the 10th year in a row, the Villa degli Autori will become the house of European youth passionate about cinema. 28 Times Cinema is coming back thanks to the partnership of the Lux Film Prize, Europa Cinemas and the Giornate degli Autori who, with the support of Cineuropa, are bringing to Venice 28 young cinéphiles, each in representation of a European country.

Since 2010, the 28 Times Cinema programme encourages the development of a community of young Europeans bonding over a shared passion for cinema.

This year the participants have been selected from over 200 applications - representing 60 cinemas and cultural institutions part of the Europa Cinemas network across Europe.

These 28 strangers, all aged between 18 and 25, will meet in Venice for the first time where they will spend two weeks together, breathing the atmosphere of a leading international film festival. Here they will serve as members of the Jury awarding the GdA Director's Award (€20.000). After the Festival, their journey will continue back home where they will become ambassadors for the Lux Film Prize, helping to promote the three films from its Official Competition in their local territories.

In the upcoming weeks Cineuropa, Europa Cinemas, Giornate degli Autori and the Lux Film Prize will share some more information about each of the 28 participants. What makes each of them so special? What is it that they love about cinema?

Follow our socials to find out more!

Austria – Filmcasino (Wien) – Lea Rizzi Ladinser

Belgium – Cinéma Aventure (Brusels) – Evelien Van Houdt

Bulgaria – Dom na Kinoto (Sofia) – Mladen Pechevski

Cyprus –  Rialto (Limassol) – Christina Andreou

Czech Repulic – Svetozor (Prague) – Beata Mrazíková

Croatia – Urania (Osijek) – David Gašo

Denmark – Grand Teatret (Copenhagen) – Sinead Shahrzad

Estonia – Kino Sõprus (Tallinn) – Henri Särekanno

Finland – Kino Iiris (Lahti) – Rosa Id

France – Luminor (Paris) – Victor Courgeon

Germany – York Kino (Berlin) – Kareem Baholzer

Greece – Mikrokosmos (Athens) – Nikoletta Vaxevani

Hungary – Budapest Film (Budapest) – Anna Járai

Ireland – IFI (Dublin) –  Stephen Porzio

Italy – Anteo Palazzo del Cinema (Milano) – Denis Ripamonti

Latvia – Kino Bize (Riga) – Marta Kraujina

Lithuania – Skalvija (Vilnius) – Martynas Kliučininkas

Luxembourg – Utopia (Luxembourg) – Emile Simon

Malta – Spazju Kreattiv (Valetta) – Mark Farrugia

Netherlands – Kino Rotterdam (Rotterdam) – Joël Audenaerde

Poland – Kino Pod Baranami (Crakow) – Natalia Ryba

Portugal – Trindade (Porto) – Alexandra Guimarães

Romania – Elvire Popesco (Bucharest) – Maria Salomia

Slovakia – Kino Úsmev (Košice) – Nikola Čabáková

Slovenia – Kinodvor (Ljubljana) – Gregor Rihtaršič

Spain – Zumzeig (Barcelona) – Pau Vall Capdet

Sweden – Zita (Stockholm) – Amanda Feldin Hjert

United Kingdom – Barbican Cinema (London) – Yvonne Shelling