73rd Berlinale (16 – 26 February 2023)

Presentation of the Label Jury


In the framework of the 73rd Berlinale, which runs from Thursday 16th to Sunday 26th February 2023, a Jury composed of 4 Network exhibitors will award the Europa Cinemas Label to a European film at the Panorama section. This year, 13 films will compete for our Label.

73rd Berlinale (16 – 26 February 2023)

The four Jury members are:

Marius Bălănescu (Manager, Cinema Victoria, Cluj-Napoca, Romania)

Marius Balanescu has been part of the Transylvania International Film Festival team since 2008. In 2022, he took over the management of one of the oldest and most prestigious arthouse cinemas in Romania – Cinema Victoria. He has a rich experience in film events, as Head of Events at Casa TIFF, a cultural center that aims to promote film education and film as a means of artistic expression. In addition, Marius has been running the cinematheque since 2015 and organised several other film festivals in Romania. He has also been in production at Libra Film Productions, thus his experience leading to a natural transition into film production.

Will Fitzgerald (Programmer, Pálás, Galway, Ireland)   

William Fitzgerald is a film programmer with the Lighthouse Cinema Group, with responsibility for Pálás Cinema Galway, an award winning, three-screen independent cinema in the West of Ireland. The former Programme Director of the Galway Film Fleadh, William’s background is in festivals, indigenous cinema and short film. He has also worked for the Foyle Film Festival, Tribeca Film Festival, and Irish Film New York.

Tanja Helm (Managing Director & Head of Programming, Cinematograph & Leokino, Innsbruck, Austria)

She started working at Leokino as a part-time employee at the cinema bar in 2012. Out of curiosity, she trained as a projectionist. In 2014, Tanja joined the backoffice team. In October 2020, she became Head of Programming and Managing Director of Cinematograph, Leokino and Otto Preminger Institut. Having studied History of Arts, she is strongly interested in politics of images and the artistic representation of the present.

Ola Starmach (Project coordinator & social media administrator, Kino Pod Baranami, Kraków, Poland)

Ola was born in 1988 and graduated with a master’s degree in Film Studies from Jagiellonian University in Krakow, Poland. She has been working for Kino Pod Baranami for over 13 years as a programmer, event coordinator, PR and social media administrator. She also runs film clubs (for kids, high school, and university students) and moderates Q&As. From the very beginning of her presence in the film exhibition industry, she has been promoting the cinema-going experience in various creative ways. Ola is also a frequent guest in local radio stations and universities, and co-host of an online radio film broadcast.


The Europa Cinemas Label Award Ceremony in cooperation with Fipresci will take place on Friday 24 February at 6pm at State Representation of Thuringia (Landesvertretung Thüringen, Mohrenstraße 64, 10117 Berlin).


Eligible films:

AFTER by Anthony Lapia (France), 69 min.

THE BEAST IN THE JUNGLE (LA BÊTE DANS LA JUNGLE) by Patric Chiha (France), 110 min.

DRIFTER by Hannes Hirsch (Germany), 79 min.

INSIDE by Vasilis Katsoupis (Europe – Greece, Germany, Belgium), 105 min.

MATRIA by Álvaro Gago (Spain), 100 min.

MIDWIVES (SAGES-FEMMES) by Léa Fehner (France), 97 min.

OPPONENT (MOTSTÅNDAREN) by Milad Alami (Sweden), 119 min.

PASSAGES by Ira Sachs (France), 91 min.

THE QUIET MIGRATION (STILLE LIV) by Malene Choi (Denmark), 103 min.

SILVER HAZE by Sacha Polak (Netherlands), 102 min.

THE SIREN (LA SIRÈNE) by Sepideh Farsi (France), 100 min. – Animation

SISI & I (SISI & ICH) by Frauke Finsterwalder (Germany), 110 min.

THE TEACHERS’ LOUNGE (DAS LEHRERZIMMER) by İlker Çatak (Germany), 98 min.


EC Label contacts:

Fatima Djoumer, COO,

Lisa Püscher, EC Label Coordinator,

Charles McDonald, Press Officer,