Within the framework of the EURIMAGES programme, Europa Cinemas supports cinema exhibition in the member States of the Council of Europe since 1993.

This action is complementary with the support programme towards cinemas operating within the MEDIA programme of the European Union. It facilitates the integration of the cinemas in these schemes when they join the European Union.

Therefore, only the cinemas located in the EURIMAGES member States, which do not have access to any MEDIA Programme´s support, are eligible for assistance.

In 2017, Europa Cinemas/Eurimages Network includes 66 cinemas totalling 264 screens in 42 cities and 4 countries: Armenia, Russia, Switzerland and Turkey.



To increase the programming of European films in theatres in Eurimages member states that do not have access to the MEDIA Programme, notably countries in central and eastern Europe;

To support initiatives by cinemas which programme and promote European films on their screens;

To develop a network of theatres at European level to allow concerted efforts between cinema exhibitors and distributors and with other European organisations that sponsor theatres.



A theatre that wishes to join the network must apply before 30 June (6pm) of the current year for an accession the following year.
In order to do so, the following form needs to be filled in and sent to the following address mricha@europa-cinemas.org  before 30 June (6pm) of the current year.
Upon receipt of this document, Europa Cinemas will register your application and will follow up your application file exclusively online.
Europa Cinemas will assist you in the finalisation and validation of your application. 
If you have any questions, please write to: mricha@europa-cinemas.org




Regulations for the Theatre support


List of country codes